I am a huge film fan and recently I’ve been inspired by films like “The Artist” which was totally superb and “Hugo” which I found really beautiful and touching. I began thinking about the nature of belief and how our beliefs shape our world.  As Anais-Nin put it:

“We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.”

And David Hume:

“Beauty in things exists in the mind which contemplates them.”

I thought in this vein, that I would share a poem I wrote a few years ago:

Beauty

If I do not see your beauty
Is there none there to be found
Have I succumbed to misdirection
Lying face down on the ground
If I do not see your beauty
Am I blinded by a loss
That supersedes a gentle nature
To leave a heavy bearing cross
If I do not see your beauty
And I choose to close my eyes
Am I a victim of myself
And all the tears I’ve never dried
If I do not see your beauty
Perhaps I do not see at all
For you’re a masterpiece creation
Serving nought but to enthral
 
