Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hello all. It’s been a month since I graced this stage – a fact I’m not particularly proud of! Today I’m sharing a new video with you which I recorded a couple of weeks back. The song I perform is called “Silence” and I wrote it about fifteen years ago, when I still lived in the Emerald Isle.

I received a surprising message recently from a young woman who heard me play this song in 2001, when I was a Kibbutz volunteer in Israel. She had been looking for me for many years, with the hope of hearing the song again. This inspired me to record it, and I’m very glad I did. I have so many old songs I never perform, and knowing this song made such an impression, I’m now going to dust those oldies off, and bring them back to life.

I always enjoy hearing people’s interpretations of my songs. This means I don’t usually go into a detailed explanation of what they are about, for fear of ruining what a song means to an individual. But here I will say at least this: for me, this song speaks about perception, and those emotions we experience in the silence of our own hearts.

I hope you enjoy.

Lyrics:

 
Silence may wound the fearful
Words say more than they should
Your thoughts may not be evil
And yet in deed they would make it
 
Too late for you to go
Too late for you to show
Your life’s in shreds
Too late for you to cry
Too late to say goodbye
Your mind is dead
 
Heartbreak may wound the lonely
Love can destroy the strong
Reasons may not be evil
You’ll still be told you’re wrong
And it will be
 
Too late for you to go
Too late for you to show
Your life’s in shreds
Too late for you to cry
Too late to say goodbye
Your mind is dead
 
And why should it be that you suffer
At the hands of your lover
Or your Father, or your Mother
Or closest friend
And why should you cry every evening
Not know why you are grieving
For a life you’ve never had
Has come to an end
And it will be
 
Too late for you to go
Too late for you to show
Your life’s in shreds
Too late for you to cry
Too late to say goodbye
Your mind is dead
 
© Emily Coates 2013
 
