Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Of late, I’ve been spending more and more time resting in awareness – being the observer of my thoughts as they move across my mind, but not identifying or engaging with those thoughts. I’ve also spent more time than I would like being completely caught up in my thoughts and the story they tell! I’m stressed and anxious when I buy into those thoughts, but I ALWAYS feel so much relief & calm when I choose to let them go. I came across these two quotes today and wanted to share them here:

“So, how do you get back to heaven?
To begin with, just notice the thoughts that take you away from it.
You don’t have to believe everything your thoughts tell you.
Just become familiar with the particular thoughts you use
to deprive yourself of happiness.
It may seem strange at first to get to know yourself in this way,
but becoming familiar with your stressful thoughts
will show you the way home to everything you need.”

“An uncomfortable feeling is not an enemy.
It’s a gift that says, “Get honest; inquire.”
We reach out for alcohol, or television, or credit cards,
so we can focus out there and not have to look at the feeling.
And that’s as it should be, because in our innocence we haven’t known how.
So now what we can do is reach out for a paper and a pencil,
write thought down, and investigate.”

– Byron Katie

 

