Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have to say, we had a wonderful summer this year! I made the most of August outdoors, which meant I spent little time online, and my blog suffered serious neglect. But I figure I can more than make up for this now, as the weather has become really cold and I am staying put behind closed doors, concentrating on all the work I want to catch up on.

As some of you will know, every Tuesday I post a photo on my facebook page with some lyrics from a favourite song – mine or another artist’s. This week I thought to celebrate all things Autumn, and share some lyrics from my song entitled “Autumn Leaves”. Here it is below:

Autumn Leaves

Autumn Leaves

And this is the perfect place to share the full lyrics:

Autumn leaves on the ground
Howling wind, all around
Faded rainbow, colours gone
Hold the key until there’s none
 
On my own, running free
No one coming after me
Nothing to cling to
Nothing left
Eerie sounds surround my steps
Echoes near
Whisper secrets in my ear
Don’t follow shadows of the day
Lift your eyes and look away
 
Feeling wild and almost scared
Mindless dreams I never shared
Climbing branches, hollow bark
Sit and wait until it’s dark
 
On my own, running free
No one coming after me
Nothing to cling to
Nothing left
Eerie sounds surround my steps
Echoes near
Whisper secrets in my ear
Don’t follow shadows of the day
Lift your eyes and look away
Squirrel leap
Falling right at your feet
Silent noises everywhere
Darkening sky, misty air
Nothing’s clear
Feel despair
Don’t you care
 
© Emily Coates 2013
 
 
