Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am a huge fan of contemporary & interpretive dance, and when I first saw this video for Sia’s Chandelier, I was blown away, not just by little Maddie Ziegler’s amazing talent & ability, but by the beautiful and turbulent emotion expressed here throughout. I’ve watched this video too many times to count, and continue to visit it when the mood takes me. Much like the drug Sia speaks about in this song, it leaves me wanting more. It moves me, every time. I love art that can trigger such profound emotions within.
 
I first discovered Sia during a marathon of “Six Feet Under” many years ago, when her song Breathe Me was used in the series finale. From that moment, I fell in love with her voice and her artistry. Her videos are really unique, as she is unashamedly herself. In a day when so many acts in the popular music scene appear as variations on a theme, I find her very refreshing. It also gives me hope when the mainstream music industry is receptive to something of this nature. Perhaps the boxes are breaking open…
 
A lot of people have commented on this video saying they don’t understand it, it freaks them out, and the dance is inappropriate for such a young child. I was really amazed, and somewhat shocked to read these comments, because to me it is such a beautiful work of art, and it perfectly expresses the Universal human struggle. I know the video is about Sia’s personal struggles with alcohol, but I think it can be applied to any human struggle, and the tumultuous commotion inherent in it. I certainly don’t enjoy suffering – in fact I put up serious resistance when in any form of pain – but I don’t believe in running from difficult or excruciating emotions, as they are an essential & valid part of the human experience. I see this song and video as facing and expressing them head-on, which is always incredibly liberating.
 
I also think Maddie Ziegler’s thoughts on her experience of undertaking this dance were great: “it was really out of the box and it expanded me a lot… you just need to let go and feel it.”
 
I know it all comes down to personal perception, yet I can’t help but think that some of these nay-Sayers are simply people who are not willing to feel it (as Maddie put it). At any rate, I love this song and the video, and so had to share it with you here.

 

