Tags

,

It makes me laugh
When I think that words
Can make any difference at all
They are only words
And it is true they can touch a heart
And bring a tear to an eye
These poetic tones that beautify
Even the darkest tales
But they cannot change the turmoil inside any man alive
They cannot make him take out his heart
And look at what lies there
They cannot make him face himself
And all the demons that he holds
For these are only words
Moving about on paper
A dimension of one unfolds
Written with ink
I bring them forth for now
So I can release my pain
Then they will slink back inside
Their glow quenched by life
And I will be lost again
They are only words
And it is true they can touch a heart
And bring a tear to an eye
These poetic tones that beautify
But they cannot change the work a man must do
They cannot make him take out his heart
And look at what is true
They cannot make him face himself
And all the demons that he holds
For they are only words
And it is only words we know
